The Joint Commission Gold Seal of Approval® for Nursing Care Center Accreditation and Post-Acute Care Certification

The Gold Seal of Approval® is a symbol of quality that reflects commitment to providing safe and effective patient and resident care. Established in 1966, The Joint Commission’s Nursing Care Center Accreditation Program accredits more than 1,000 organizations that offer nursing home and other long term care services. The Post-Acute Care Certification award was launched in 2013 by The Joint Commission to recognize nursing homes that demonstrate advanced competencies in the provision of post-acute care to patients and residents recently hospitalized. River Garden earned its award in 2018 by demonstrating continuous compliance with performance standards.

Governor’s Gold Seal Award – Florida Health Care Association

River Garden is a nine-time recipient of the esteemed Governor’s Gold Seal Award. The Governor’s Gold Seal Program awards and recognizes nursing home facilities that demonstrate excellence in long-term care over a sustained period, promotes the stability of the industry and facilitates the physical, social, and emotional well-being of nursing home facility residents. Established in 2002, the Gold Seal Award program was developed and implemented by the Governor’s Panel on Excellence in Long Term Care, which is composed of persons appointed by the Governor’s Office, Agency for Health Care Administration, Department of Health, Department of Elder Affairs, Florida Association of Homes for the Aging (now LeadingAge Florida), Florida Health Care Association, Florida Life Care Residents Association and the State Long Term Care Ombudsman. River Garden has received this award since it was introduced in 2002.

AHCA Five-Star Quality Rating

The Florida Agency for Healthcare Administration (AHCA) Five-Star Rating indicates that a facility ranks better than 81% to 100% of the facilities in its region. That is, five stars means that the facility ranked in the top 20% of facilities in its region.

Star ranks indicate only relative rankings within a region. All of the nursing homes in a particular region could perform better than the statewide average. Therefore, a low rank does not necessarily indicate a “low quality” facility. Similarly, all of the nursing homes in a particular region could perform lower than the statewide average. Therefore, receiving a high rank does not necessarily indicate a “high quality” facility. Click here to learn more about the AHCA.

CMS Five-Star Quality Rating

The Five-Star Quality Rating System was created to help consumers, their families, and caregivers compare nursing homes more easily and help identify areas about which you may want to ask questions. This rating system is based on continued efforts as a result of the Omnibus Reconciliation Act of 1987 (OBRA ’87), a nursing home reform law, and more recent quality improvement campaigns such as the Advancing Excellence in America’s Nursing Homes, a coalition of consumers, health care providers, and nursing home professionals.

Nursing home ratings are taken from the following three sources of data:

  • Health Inspections
  • Staffing
  • Quality Measures

A star rating is provided for each of these three sources, in case some areas are more important to you than others. Then, these three ratings are combined to calculate an overall rating.

Why is this important?
Nursing homes vary in the quality of care and services they provide to their residents. Reviewing health inspection results, staffing data, and quality measure data are three important ways to measure nursing home quality. This information gives you a “snap shot” of the care individual nursing homes give.

To learn more about our community, please feel free to call us: 904-260-1818 or send us an email.

slideshow logo
CNAs were helpful, kind, knowledgeable and warm. The doctors were easy to talk to and responsive. The therapy team is incredible.
– Barbara Stillman
Skip to content